Forget Third Party Email Apps

Folks are quite passionate about the software they use to access their email. I fell in that camp for a while but anymore I just don’t get it. I think that stems from my intent to touch emails only once, keep my inbox as empty as possible, and use a single archive folder for all emails I want to keep.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at http://joebuhlig.com/forget-third-party-email-apps/

I’m curious. How do you grab the link back to the email message on iOS without a third party app?

I have no experience in this but I can guess that he might be using the Workflow app to do some voodoo magic that might copy the URL of the e-mail to OmniFocus.

That might be possible but I’m no Workflow guru.

Joe, I completely agree. Thanks for writing it.

I’ve received a bunch of questions on this one so I’m pulling together an article/screencast on it that’ll be finished tomorrow morning. Look for that to see the details of how to use the Gmail permalinks.

In short, you can’t that I’m aware of. I always collect them on the Mac.

Close. :wink: I don’t use it to collect them but I use it to open them on iOS. Again, this will make more sense tomorrow.

As promised, here’s the screencast I mentioned.

I filter my emails into their appropriate folder. I get all kinds of email. By having filtered folders, I can choose to look at the sort of emails I wish when I wish. Saves me time and frustration.

Makes sense, @Karacter0. It works for some and not for others. As long as you have a way that pans out for you, go for it.

I use the Mailplane app with its save to Omnifocus integration and a hotkey set up to do so. It actually includes the body of the email in the note field, so you rarely even need to follow the URL back to the original email unless the point is to reply to that thread.